The Max Planck Institute for the History of Science comprises three departments under the direction of Etienne Benson (I+II) and Dagmar Schäfer (III). In addition are several Research Groups, each led by a junior Research Group Leader. The Institute also comprises a Research IT Group specializing in digital humanities, an International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS), doctoral students, and research and teaching cooperations with other institutions worldwide.