15th Scholars’ Forum for Literature and the History of Science (Deadline March 15, 2020)

The Institute for German and Dutch Philology and Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of the Free University of Berlin, in collaboration with the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, invite early career scholars to take part in the 15th Scholars’ Forum for Literature and the History of Science, also known as Studientag Literatur und Wissenschaftsgeschichte, which will be held on June 27, 2020, 10:00–19:00, at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science.

The Forum for Literature and the History of Science offers early career scholars an opportunity to discuss their work-in-progress themed on the history of literature and science, as well as other closely relevant topics. To maximize the impact of our discussion for participants, we especially encourage presentations of unfinished projects in various stages of development.

In this view, all accepted speakers will be requested to pre-circulate papers of 10–20 pages among all registered participants. The papers can be written in English or German. The discussion of all papers will start with comments by experts appointed by the organizers and followed by responses of the authors, each paper receiving about an hour of discussion time.

All interested early career scholars are warmly invited to apply for participation in the Forum by March 15, 2020 with a title, an abstract of up to 500 words of the proposed paper, and an indication of academic affiliation. Accepted speakers will be requested to confirm participation and pre-circulate their papers in PDF format by June 12, 2020.

Please inform us of your childcare needs by June 1, 2020 so that we can book for a room for childcare during the event.

  • Prof. Dr. Jutta Müller-Tamm, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Dr. Donatella Germanese, Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Christina Brandt, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Kleeberg, Universität Erfurt
  • Dr. Johanna Bohley, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • Dr. Jenny Willner, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Dr. Hansjakob Ziemer, Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte Berlin