Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is a permanently established body that evaluates the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, and critically assesses its standing to ensure that research is performed at the highest possible international level. The Institute is advised and evaluated every two to three years.


Board Members

Angela N.H. Creager (Head)

Department of History, Princeton University, USA

Markus Asper

Institut für Klassische Philologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

On Barak

Department of Middle Eastern and African History, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Isabelle Draelants

Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes, Aubervilliers, France

Mareile Flitsch

Philosophische Fakultät, Universität Zürich, Switzerland

Beatrice Gruendler

Seminar für Semitistik und Arabistik, Fachbereich Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Dennis Lehmkuhl

Lichtenberg Group for History and Philosphy of Physics, Bonn, Germany

Dominik Perler

Institut für Philosophie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Roel Sterckx

Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, University of Cambridge, UK

Julia Adeney Thomas

Department of History, University of Notre Dame, USA

Karin Zachmann

School of Education, Technische Universität München, Germany