The Strait in the Cold War—Deep Science and Global Geopolitics in the Mediterranean

fs50_img.jpg

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.

Figure 1: Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.

The Strait in the Cold War—Deep Science and Global Geopolitics in the Mediterranean

In his research project, historian of science Lino Camprubí analyzes how anti-submarine surveillance reunited geopolitics and ocean science during the Cold War, enabling new global visions of the Mediterranean Sea.

The movie Das Boot followed the fictional German submarine U-96 as its captain tried to sail from the Atlantic into the Mediterranean to assist in the 1942 war effort. The major challenge was crossing the narrow Strait of Gibraltar, where the anxious crew was haunted by the “pings” of British active sonar. In 1981, the year the movie was released, NATO was immersed in oceanographic research at the Strait with the hope of enabling sonic detection of Soviet nuclear powered submarines (see Figure 1 as a summary). NATO’s Gibraltar Experiment soon became a landmark of research on global ocean circulation and climate change. As this sketch shows, the recent history of underwater surveillance at Gibraltar, a disputed territory at the heart of today’s European Union, brings together the geopolitics of the Global Cold War and deep ocean science, enabling new global visions of the Mediterranean Sea.

fs50_img5.jpg

Thomas H. Kinder and Harry L. Bryden, “Summary of the Field Program and Initial Results of the Gibraltar Experiment,” WHOI Technical Reports (1988).

Figure 2: Camprubí shows shows Department II scholars a figure available at Thomas H. Kinder and Harry L. Bryden, “Summary of the Field Program and Initial Results of the Gibraltar Experiment,” WHOI Technical Reports (1988).

Nuclear powered submarines armed with nuclear warheads recruited the underwater world into a Cold War battlefield (see Figure 2). Because an invisible enemy could emerge by surprise from any point of the world-ocean, combatants aspired to global surveillance. For that, they targeted chokepoints. Together with the so-called GIUK gap between Greenland, Iceland, and the UK, the Strait of Gibraltar was the most strategic bottleneck for the US Navy to detect Soviet submarines going into the Atlantic. While the Strait’s narrowness presented an opportunity for mounting detection barriers, its depth and complex hydrology posed severe difficulties. These were matched by the political frictions existing around the Rock of Gibraltar—a British outpost bordering Francoist Spain, a non-NATO ally to the US—and North African decolonization.

fs50_img2.jpg

Colossus I experimental system. Donald Ross, Twenty Years of Research at the SACLANT ASW Research Center, 1959–1979 (La Spezia: SACLANT, special report M-93, 1980): 49.

Figure 3: Colossus I experimental system. Donald Ross, Twenty Years of Research at the SACLANT ASW Research Center, 1959–1979, La Spezia: SACLANT, special report M-93, 1980. P. 49.

My current book project, The Strait in the Cold War, is a history of oceanography and Cold War geopolitics. It explores the geopolitical and scientific resources mobilized in the effort of anti-submarine warfare at Gibraltar. Far from offering a US-centered perspective, it analyzes a number of transnational research programs and is very attentive to interests predating the Cold War, namely sovereignty disputes and decolonization. Underwater surveillance was a matter of acoustics. It required both the standardization of experience through trained ears and precise knowledge of sound propagation, which depended on Atlantic-Mediterranean water flows. The attention to circulation of civil and military oceanographers paved the way for the scientific globalization of the Mediterranean.

The Strait in the Cold War dives into the Strait of Gibraltar as a gateway between the Mediterranean at the Atlantic. The main thesis advanced in this project is that anti-submarine surveillance reunited geopolitics and ocean science in such a way that rendered the Cold War Mediterranean relevant to the creation of modern globalities. Specifically, oceanographers started to discuss the Mediterranean as both a factor in world ocean dynamics (for which they traced Mediterranean water masses as they crossed the Atlantic towards the North Pole) and a model basin to understand convection at a global scale. Anti-submarine surveillance required detailed knowledge of the behavior of deep currents (see Figure 1). In particular, acoustic monitoring demanded new and changing ways of perceiving under water, from listening below the surface to seeing sound signatures in graphic patterns. This new phenomenology gave shape to new objects, such as deep currents, scattering layers, the thermocline, plankton, and internal waves.

The Strait of Gibraltar was one of the busiest for commerce and military vessels throughout the twentieth century. In the age of nuclear deterrence between the two superpowers and of North African decolonization, being able to close or open that gateway between two oceans became a priority of government and military authorities of numerous countries. From the 1940s and well into the 1990s, scientists and navy officials from more than ten nations endeavored to map converging currents. They did so through secret bilateral agreements as well as through transnational collaborative efforts such as the International Geophysical Year (1957–1958), the NATO Subcommittee for Oceanography (1959–1975), and the Gibraltar Experiment (1985–1995). In this account, the Strait becomes a chokepoint for the entangled histories of worldwide underwater surveillance and the construction of the global ocean in scientific and environmental senses.

Among the players in this story are some of the usual suspects in accounts of Cold War oceanography, particularly scientists and institutions from the U.S., the U.S.S.R. and the U.K. But the struggle for knowledge and power extended to scientific and diplomatic representatives of Spain, France, Italy, Morocco, and Algeria. Their respective strategies included collaboration, hegemony, and competition through expeditions, publication patterns, and funding decisions. The specificities of the Strait of Gibraltar’s hydrology and politics, together with its commonalities to other oceanic chokepoints, allowed it to become a focal point for the emergence of a new global world.

fs50_img4.jpg

Refugees on a boat crossing the Mediterranean Sea, heading from Turkish coast to the northeastern Greek island of Lesbos, January 29, 2016. Mstyslav Chernov (public domain).

Figure 4: Refugees on a boat crossing the Mediterranean Sea, heading from the Turkish coast to the northeastern Greek island of Lesbos, January 29, 2016. Mstyslav Chernov (public domain, wikimedia commons).

The visibility of the Mediterranean to contemporary readers has increased dramatically over the past few years. Scanning newspapers as well as general and specialized journals, one notices that the Mediterranean Sea has regained status as a unit of analysis (see Figure 4). The Arab Spring, the economic crisis of southern Europe, and the tragedy of refugees crossing Greek borders by the thousands have challenged ideas about global geopolitics. Debates over the meaning and future of Europe revolve around the Mediterranean. Border control and surveillance occupy officials in meetings, families of migrants, and the opinions of the public. And yet, following Braudel, most of the existing historiography ends around 1500. At that point, the argument goes, the Atlantic World obscured the significance of the Mediterranean Sea to world history. The Strait in the Cold War aims to change our visions of the modern Mediterranean, making historical sense of its current visibility. This is a contribution to a growing literature on the construction of new oceanic spaces through science, war, and law. This revolution in maritime history can speak to wider concerns about the present and future of oceans, including those voiced at the German Bundesministerium Wissenschaftsjahr 2016/17—Meere und Ozeane.

The attention to underwater surveillance, deep science, and the relevance of the Strait’s chokepoint to global geopolitics opens ways to rethinking the world’s political geography. It also provides an entry point into the local manufacture of the idea of the global environment, thus contributing to the Department II Working Group Experiencing the Global Environment. As other Department II initiatives, this Working Group aims at historicizing a concept considered central to today’s scientific worldview. The idea of the global environment provides frameworks and motivations for earth system sciences and at the same time mobilizes public opinion, often in polarized ways. Exploring its epistemology brings the history of science into an urgent conversation.

Further Information

Go to Lino Camprubí’s profile page.

Go to Department II Working Group Experiencing the Global Environment.

See Lino Camprubí and Sam Robinson: “A Gateway to Ocean Circulation. Surveillance and Sovereignty at Gibraltar.” In: HSNS 46 (4) (2016), pp. 429–459.

Lino Camprubí, “The Invention of the Global Environment. Essay review.” In: HSNS 46 (2) (2016), pp. 243–251.

Download the print version of this Research Topic.

Research Topics Archive

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: The Strait in the Cold War—Deep Science and Global Geopolitics in the Mediterranean
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Mountain Clamor! Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Data and Decisions in Early Modern Mines
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Scientific Scores and Musical Ears: Sound Diagrams in Field Recording
School of Athens
46: Early Modern Adaptation of the Aristotelian Mechanics
better shelter
45: Refugee Housing
44: Mapping Climatology
Black Hole Merger
43: One Hundred Years of Gravitational Waves
42: How High Is the Sea?
41: The Renewal of Einstein's Theory of Relativity in the Post-War Era
40: Do Data Have Politics?
39: From Sound to Knowledge
38: Colours and Their Context
37: Is Bigger Better
36: Rooting Language Family Trees
35: Making Genetics Human
34: Galileo's Laboratory of Ideas
33: Historicizing Big Data
32: Ancient Balances at the Nexus of Innovation and Knowledge
31: Looking at Diversity
30: How Recipes Created Knowledge in Early Modern Households
29: Metallurgy, Ballistics and Epistemic Instruments
28: Science under Scrutiny
27: The Globalization of Knowledge and its Consequences
26: Parts Unknown: Making the Familiar Strange
25: Apprehending Human Difference and Population Size
24: Endangerment and Its Consequences
23: The Equilibrium Controversy
22: Art and Knowledge in Pre-Modern Europe
21: Knowledgescapes
20: Baby Science in fin-de-siècle America
19: Let him reconquer language
18: Histories of Scientific Observation
17: On Historicizing Epistemology : an essay
16: Johann Lambert's Conversion to a Geometry of Space
15: The Uncertain Boundaries between Light and Matter
14: Every move will be recorded
13: Courting the Crafts in Qing China
12: The Concepts of Immanuel Kant's Natural Philosophy
11: Jean Piaget and the Child's Spontaneous Geometry
10: Galileo and the Others
9: Historicizing Knowledge about Human Biodiversity
8: Dreaming in and of Neurophilosophy
7: Who Were Einstein's Opponents?
6: Physiology of the piano
5: Numbering Bees
4: New Ways of Using Digital Images
3: Telling Instruments
2: Microscope Slides: An Object of the History of Science?
1: What (Good) is Historical Epistemology?

Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg – Tiefenforschung und globale Geopolitik im Mittelmeerraum

fs50_img.jpg

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.

Abb. 1: Tiefenmessungsmodell der Straße von Gibraltar, ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.

Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg – Tiefenforschung und globale Geopolitik im Mittelmeerraum

In seinem Forschungsprojekt untersucht Wissenschaftshistoriker Lino Camprubí wie Anti-U-Boot-Überwachung Geopolitik und Ozeanografie während des Kalten Krieges vereinigt hat, und damit neue globale Vorstellungen vom Mittelmeer ermöglichte.

Der Film Das Boot verfolgt den Weg des fiktiven deutschen U-Boots U-96, das sein Kapitän versuchte vom Atlantik ins Mittelmeer zu steuern, um die Kriegsanstrengungen von 1942 zu unterstützen. Die größte Herausforderung dabei war, die enge Straße von Gibraltar zu durchfahren, wo die ängstliche Besatzung von den Pings des britischen aktiven Sonars verfolgt wurde. 1981, in dem Jahr, in dem der Film herauskam, war die NATO mit ozeanografischen Forschungen an der Meerenge beschäftigt, womit sie hoffte, das Aufspüren von sowjetischen Atom-U-Booten mittels Sonar zu ermöglichen (siehe zur Übersicht Abbildung 1). Das Gibraltar-Experiment der NATO wurde schnell ein Meilenstein der Forschung zu globalen Meeresströmungen und zum Klimawandel. Wie diese Skizze zeigt, vereinigt die jüngere Geschichte der Unterwasser-Überwachung in Gibraltar, einem umkämpften Gebiet im Herzen der heutigen Europäischen Union, die Geopolitik des globalen Kalten Krieges mit der Tiefseeforschung und schafft damit die Voraussetzungen für neue globale Perspektiven auf das Mittelmeer.

fs50_img5.jpg

Thomas H. Kinder and Harry L. Bryden, “Summary of the Field Program and Initial Results of the Gibraltar Experiment,” WHOI Technical Reports (1988).

Abb. 2: Camprubí zeigt Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen an Abteilung II eine Abbildung, verfügbar bei Thomas H. Kinder und Harry L. Bryden, „Summary of the Field Program and Initial Results of the Gibraltar Experiment“ („Übersicht über das Feldprogramm und erste Resultate des Gibraltar-Experiments“), in: WHOI Technical Reports, 1988.

Mit Atomsprengköpfen bewaffnete Atom-U-Boote machten die Unterwasserwelt zu einem Schlachtfeld des Kalten Krieges (siehe Abbildung 2). Da an jedem Punkt des Weltmeeres jederzeit überraschend ein unsichtbarer Feind erscheinen konnte, trachteten die Kriegsgegner nach weltweiter Überwachung. Zu diesem Zweck fassten sie vor allem Engstellen ins Auge. Zusammen mit der sogenannten GIUK Öffnung zwischen Grönland, Island und dem Vereinigten Königreich, war die Straße von Gibraltar für die US-Kriegsmarine der strategisch wichtigste Engpass, um sowjetische U-Boote auf dem Weg in den Atlantik aufzuspüren. Während die geringe Breite der Meerenge die Möglichkeit bot, Ortungsvorrichtungen anzubringen, bereiteten ihre Tiefe und die komplexen hydrologischen Bedingungen ernsthafte Schwierigkeiten. Diesen entsprachen die politischen Spannungen, die rund um den Felsen von Gibraltar – einen an das frankistische Spanien grenzenden britischen Vorposten, einen Alliierten der Vereinigten Staaten, der nicht zur NATO gehörte – und die nordafrikanische Dekolonisierung existierten.

fs50_img2.jpg

Colossus I experimental system. Donald Ross, Twenty Years of Research at the SACLANT ASW Research Center, 1959–1979 (La Spezia: SACLANT, special report M-93, 1980): 49.

Abb. 3: Experimentalsystem Colossus I. Donald Ross, Twenty Years of Research at the SACLANT ASW Research Center, 1959–1979, La Spezia: SACLANT, special report M-93, 1980, S. 49.

Mein aktuelles Buchprojekt The Strait in the Cold War (Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg) ist eine Geschichte der Ozeanografie und der Geopolitik während des Kalten Krieges. Es untersucht die geopolitischen und wissenschaftlichen Mittel, die im Rahmen des Versuchs der Anti-U-Boot-Kriegsführung bei Gibraltar aufgeboten wurden. Es bietet keine USA-zentrierte Perspektive, sondern analysiert eine Reihe von transnationalen Forschungsprogrammen und betrachtet sehr genau die Einflüsse aus der Zeit vor dem Kalten Krieg, insbesondere Souveränitätsfragen und die Dekolonisierung. Unterwasser-Überwachung war eine Sache der Akustik. Sie erforderte sowohl die Standardisierung der praktischen Erfahrung durch geschulte Ohren als auch genaues Wissen über Schallübertragung, die von den atlantisch-mediterranen Wasserströmungen abhing. Die Beschäftigung von zivilen und militärischen Ozeanografen mit den Strömungen ebnete den Weg für die wissenschaftliche Globalisierung des Mittelmeers.

The Strait in the Cold War widmet sich der Straße von Gibraltar als Tor zwischen dem Mittelmeer und dem Atlantik. Die in diesem Projekt vertretene zentrale These ist, dass die Anti-U-Boot-Überwachung Geopolitik und Ozeanografie auf eine Weise vereinigt hat, die dazu geführt hat, dass das Mittelmeer des Kalten Krieges für die Begründung moderner Globalität relevant wurde. Insbesondere begannen Ozeanografen das Mittelmeer sowohl als Faktor innerhalb der Dynamik der Weltmeere (wofür sie verfolgten, wie die Wassermassen des Mittelmeeres den Atlantik Richtung Nordpol durchquerten) als auch als Modellbecken für das Verständnis der Konvektion im globalen Maßstab zu diskutieren. Detailliertes Wissen über das Verhalten von tiefen Strömungen war für die Anti-U-Boot-Überwachung erforderlich (siehe Abbildung 3). Vor allem verlangte die akustische Beobachtung neue und wechselnde Arten der Unter-Wasser-Wahrnehmung, vom Hören unter der Wasseroberfläche bis zum Sehen von unverwechselbaren Klangbildern in grafischen Mustern. Diese neue Phänomenologie gab bis dahin unerforschten Objekten wie tiefen Strömungen, streuenden Schichten, der thermischen Sprungschicht, Plankton und inneren Wellen Gestalt.

Die Straße von Gibraltar war im gesamten 20. Jahrhundert eine der sowohl von Handels- als auch Kriegsschiffen am stärksten befahrenen Meerengen. Im Zeitalter der nuklearen Abschreckung zwischen den beiden Supermächten und der nordafrikanischen Dekolonisierung wurde die Möglichkeit, dieses Tor zwischen zwei Meeren zu schließen oder zu öffnen für die Regierungen und militärischen Führungen zahlreicher Länder zu einer vordringlichen Angelegenheit. Ab den 1940er Jahren und bis weit in die 1990er bemühten sich Wissenschaftler und Marinebeamte aus mehr als zehn Staaten, zusammenlaufende Strömungen kartografisch zu erfassen. Dies geschah aufgrund geheimer bilateraler Abkommen und durch gemeinsame transnationale Anstrengungen wie das Internationale Geophysikalische Jahr (1957–1958), den NATO-Unterausschuss für Ozeanografie (1959–1975) und das Gibraltar-Experiment (1985–1995). Damit wird die Straße von Gibraltar zu einer Engführung der verwickelten Geschichte der weltweiten Unterwasser-Überwachung mit der Konstruktion des globalen Meeres im wissenschaftlichen und ökologischen Sinn.

Zu den Protagonisten dieser Geschichte gehören einige der üblichen Verdächtigen im Hinblick auf die Ozeanografie im Kalten Krieg, insbesondere Wissenschaftler und Institutionen aus den USA, der UdSSR und Großbritannien. Doch der Kampf um Wissen und Macht erstreckte sich auch auf wissenschaftliche und diplomatische Repräsentanten Spaniens, Frankreichs, Italiens, Marokkos und Algeriens. Zu ihren jeweiligen Strategien gehörten Kooperation, Hegemonie und Konkurrenzkampf durch Expeditionen, Publikationsmuster und Förderentscheidungen. Die Besonderheiten der hydrologischen und politischen Bedingungen der Straße von Gibraltar sowie ihre Gemeinsamkeiten mit anderen Engstellen ließen sie bei der Entstehung einer neuen globalisierten Welt zu einem Brennpunkt werden.

fs50_img4.jpg

Refugees on a boat crossing the Mediterranean Sea, heading from Turkish coast to the northeastern Greek island of Lesbos, January 29, 2016. Mstyslav Chernov (public domain).

Abb. 4: Flüchtlinge auf einem Boot, das das Mittelmeer von der türkischen Küste zur Insel Lesbos im Nordosten Griechenlands durchquert, 29. Januar 2015. Mstyslav Chernov (linzenzfrei bei Wikimedia Commons).

Die Sichtbarkeit des Mittelmeeres für heutige Leser und Leserinnen hat im Verlauf der letzten Jahre dramatisch zugenommen. Wenn man Zeitungen oder Publikums- und Fachzeitschriften durchsieht, stellt man fest, dass das Mittelmeer den Status einer Analyseeinheit erlangt hat (siehe Abbildung 4). Der arabische Frühling, die Wirtschaftskrise in Südeuropa und die Tragödie der Flüchtlinge, die zu Tausenden die griechischen Grenzen überqueren, haben die Vorstellungen einer globalen Geopolitik infrage gestellt. Debatten über die Bedeutung und Zukunft von Europa kreisen um den Mittelmeerraum. Grenzkontrollen und Überwachung beschäftigen Behördengremien, Migrantenfamilien und die öffentliche Meinung. Und dennoch endet die existierende Historiografie im Gefolge Braudels nach wie vor fast immer um 1500. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt, so das Argument, stellte die atlantische Welt die Bedeutung des Mittelmeeres für die Weltgeschichte in den Schatten. The Strait in the Cold War möchte unsere Vorstellungen vom modernen Mittelmeerraum verändern und die historische Bedeutung seiner gegenwärtigen Sichtbarkeit verstehen. Dies ist ein Beitrag zur wachsenden Literatur über neue ozeanische Räume, die durch Wissenschaft, Krieg und Gesetz konstruiert werden. Diese Revolution der maritimen Geschichte kann weiterführende Belange über die Gegenwart und die Zukunft von Ozeanen ansprechen, inklusive solcher, welche beim Wissenschaftsjahr 2016/17 – Meere und Ozeane des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung thematisiert werden.

Die Beschäftigung mit Unterwasser-Überwachung, Tiefenforschung und der Bedeutung des Nadelöhrs an der Straße von Gibraltar für die globale Geopolitik eröffnet Wege, um die politische Geografie der Welt neu zu denken. Sie bietet außerdem einen Einstieg in die lokale Erzeugung der Vorstellung von einer globalen Umwelt und leistet damit ihren Beitrag zu der Arbeitsgruppe Experiencing the Global Environment der Abteilung II. Wie andere Initiativen der Abteilung II möchte diese Arbeitsgruppe ein Konzept historisieren, das als zentral für die heutige wissenschaftliche Weltsicht betrachtet wird. Die Idee der globalen Umwelt liefert Rahmen und Motivationen für Erdsystemwissenschaften und mobilisiert gleichzeitig die öffentliche Meinung, häufig in polarisierender Weise. Indem sie ihre Epistemologie erforscht, beteiligt sich die Wissenschaftsgeschichte an einer hochaktuellen Diskussion.

Weitere Informationen

Lino Camprubís persönliche Webseite.

Webseite der Arbeitsgruppe Experiencing the Global Environment.

Siehe Lino Camprubí und Sam Robinson: „A gateway to ocean circulation. Surveillance and sovereignty at Gibraltar“, in: HSNS 46 (2016) 4, S. 429–459.

Lino Camprubí, „The Invention of the Global Environment. Essay review“, in: HSNS 46 (2016) 2, S. 243–251.

Druckversion dieses Forschungsthemas.

Archiv der Forschungsthemen

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg – Tiefenforschung und globale Geopolitik im Mittelmeerraum
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Berggeschrey! Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Erfahren und Entscheiden in frühneuzeitlichen Bergwerken
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse und musikalische Ohren: Klangdiagramme von Feld-Tonaufnahmen
School of Athens
46: Die Bearbeitung der aristotelischen Mechanik in der frühen Neuzeit
better shelter
45: Flüchtlingsunterkünfte
44: Klimatologie kartieren
Black Hole Merger
43: Hundert Jahre Gravitationswellen
42: Wie hoch ist das Meer?
41: Die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Relativitätstheorie in der Nachkriegszeit
40: Sind Daten politisch?
39: Aus Schall wird Wissen
38: Farben und ihr Kontext
37: Ist größer besser?
36: Wurzeln der Sprachfamilien-Bäume
35: Genetik menschlich machen
34: Galileos Gedankenwerkstatt
33: Die Geschichte von Big Data
32: Waagen zwischen Innovation und Wissen
31: Blick auf Vielfalt
30: Wie Rezepte in frühneuzeitlichen Haushalten Wissen schufen
29: Metallurgie, Ballistik und epistemische Instrumente
28: Überwachte Wissenschaft
27: Die Globalisierung des Wissens und ihre Konsequenzen
26: Parts Unknown: Das Vertraute fremd machen
25: Bevölkerungsgröße und Geschlechterproportion
24: Gefährdung und ihre Folgen
23: Die Gleichgewichtskontroverse
22: Künstlerwissen im frühneuzeitlichen Europa
21: Wissenslandschaften
20: Babys beobachten in Fin-de-siècle-Amerika
19: Lassen wir ihn die Sprache wieder erobern
18: Geschichte(n) der Wissenschaftlichen Beobachtung
17: Historische Epistemologie: Zur Einführung
16: Johann Lamberts Konversion zu einer Geometrie des Raumes
15: Die unscharfen Grenzen zwischen Licht und Materie
14: Jeder Schritt wird aufgezeichnet werden
13: Hofiertes Handwerk
12: Kants naturtheoretische Begriffe
11: Jean Piaget und die spontane Geometrie des Kindes
10: Galilei und die Anderen
9: Eine Wissensgeschichte der menschlichen Vielfalt
8: Träumen in und von der Neurophilosophie
7: Wer waren Einsteins Gegner?
6: Physiologie des Klaviers
5: Getupfte Bienen
4: Neue Wege für die Nutzung digitaler Bilder
3: Vielsagende Instrumente
2: Microscope Slides - ein Objekt der Wissenschaftsgeschichte?
1: Was ist und wozu dient die historische Epistemologie?