The Renewal of Einstein's Theory of Relativity in the Post-War Era

img_frontpage_einstein_1921_by_f_schmutzer_-_restoration.jpg

Albert Einstein in Vienna (1921); Wikimedia Commons.

The Renewal of Einstein's Theory of Relativity in the Post-War Era

Historians of Science at Department I of the MPIWG research the reinvention of Einstein’s Theory in the Post-War Era.

In November 1915, Albert Einstein published his theory of gravitation, thus attaining international renown which was to last unfailingly until the present day, long after his death. The history of his general theory of relativity, however, took a different course. It lost its appeal in the 1920s and did not experience a resurgence until the mid-1950s. Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science have traced this surprising development.

In 2015, the general theory of relativity will be 100 years old. In November 1915, Albert Einstein gave weekly lectures to the Prussian Academy of Sciences in which he set out the fundamental field equations of his new theory and explained its application to the precession of the perihelion of Mercury.

Four years later, one of the basic predictions of the theory – the bending of light in the gravitational field of the sun – was impressively confirmed by a solar eclipse expedition on the island of Principe, which was led by Arthur S. Eddington. Einstein became, almost overnight, an international celebrity, and has been regarded as the epitome of the brilliant scientist ever since.

This unparalleled success story is often recounted and has been researched in great detail. Less well known is the subsequent history of the general theory of relativity which – in contrast to its sensational beginnings – took a somewhat surprising turn. Historian of Science Jean Eisenstaedt has shown that after the initial hype, interest in and research into the theory ebbed into a “low-watermark period”. This phase lasted from roughly the mid-1920s to the mid-1950s.

The low point was followed by a vigorous resurgence of interest, which physicist Clifford Will describes as the “renaissance” of the general relativity theory: Until then, the theory was used mainly to calculate minute corrections to the predictions of the Newtonian gravitational theory within our solar system. Now it became important for describing distant celestial bodies as well.

EN_img_lensshoe_hubble.jpg

The image of a distant galaxy is distorted into a so-called Einstein Ring, due to the gravitational lensing effect, first predicted by Einstein himself on the basis of his general theory of relativity; Wikimedia Commons.

Their unexpected properties could be explained with the help of concepts newly derived from the theory: for example, the model of a black hole – an astronomical object with a gravitational field so strong that not even light can escape it.

The general theory of relativity returned to centre stage in the 1960s and 1970s. A half century after Einstein’s triumph, researchers who dealt with this theory and with black holes became the new superstars of physics – foremost among them the British physicist Stephen Hawking.

With the aim of studying these historical dynamics, Department I of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science has established a Working Group in which historians of modern physics and international experts in general relativity and its history are combining their efforts. This work – partly in preparation for a major conference that is to be held on the occasion of the theory’s centennial in November (together with the Albert Einstein Institute in Potsdam-Golm) – is currently in full swing, and the project will present first results in the upcoming issue of Isis (authors: Alexander Blum, Roberto Lalli, Jürgen Renn).

These results have already shed light on the above-mentioned decline and subsequent resurgence of general relativity. The changed conditions for the sciences – and specifically physics – after World War II and during the Cold War are of course a major factor. After physicists had demonstrated their importance to national security by building the atomic bomb, a great deal of money flowed into physics research in the post-war years, and the number of young physics graduates surged on an unprecedented scale.

At the same time, technologies developed during the war opened up whole new fields of research. For example, methods developed in radar research to detect radio waves were now used to observe celestial bodies that did not happen to emit radiation in the spectral range perceived by the human eye, giving rise to the field of radio astronomy. In the early 1960s, the new field of study provided proof of distant star-like objects whose properties differ fundamentally from those of our sun: Despite being billions of light-years away, these quasars, as they became known, emit such powerful radiation that they can be detected by radio telescopes. In the context of general relativity, they were soon interpreted as black holes in the making.

However, it was by no means certain that research into general relativity could benefit from the boom in physics. Around 1950, general relativity was regarded as a highly esoteric and unproductive field. Nor could it have benefited directly from new astronomical observations, since new theoretical concepts to explain those observations had already been worked out in the late 1950s and early 1960s. In order to benefit from these developments, physicists first had to re-invent the general relativity theory.

During the decades of neglect, the general relativity theory was essentially a field of mathematical and philosophical interest: Remote from concrete physical questions and highly complex in structure, the Einstein field equations provided a fertile field of activity for mathematicians.

At the same time, with its novel concept of curved spacetime, the theory formed the basis for experiments for elaborating a unified theory of the whole of physics or a theory that could explain the development of the universe as a whole (cosmology). However, these early experiments were driven principally by fundamental philosophical questions and had little to do with mainstream physics research.

EN_img_einstein_gyro_gravity_probe_b.jpg

This nearly perfect sphere was used in the Gravity Probe B satellite experiment to test the curvature of spacetime near earth, as predicted the general theory of relativity. Here it is seen refracting an image of that theory's inventor; Wikimedia Commons.

That all began to change in the 1950s: New mobility made it easier for international scientists to meet who, until that time, were working  in relative isolation on peripheral problems of physics relating to general relativity. A key event was a conference in Bern in 1955, which proved to be a starting point for the establishment of an international community of physicists who call themselves “relativists”.

The conference was held on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the special theory of relativity. Of course, Albert Einstein was invited as a guest of honour. His death several months before the conference was taken as a sign by the participants that it was now up to them to continue the Einstein tradition.

To a certain extent, the institutionalisation of this community in subsequent years – through regular conferences, specialist journals and a lively exchange of young scientists between the far-flung centres of this research – followed the model of established subdisciplines of physics, such as nuclear physics. However, in comparison to nuclear physicists, the general relativity and gravitation community had to invent itself from scratch to a much greater extent. For this reason, it was a pioneer in the field of international networking.

In order to create such a community, physicists first had to formulate common questions. In the process, an increased number of physical questions came to the fore. One example is the calculation and possible proof of the existence of gravitational waves; another, the nature of gravitational fields of very dense, massive stars.

These questions brought relativists in contact with other subdisciplines of physics, as such dense objects could be – and in fact had to be – described using nuclear physics methods. The relativists developed the theoretical concepts which, in the wake of astronomical discoveries in the early 1960s, impressively established the general relativity theory as an empirical physical theory with an unexpected scope of applications – a status that has been consolidated in the intervening 50 years.

Further Information

Watch the talks given at the conference “A Century of General Relativity.” Go to Media Library

In the context of the centenary of the General Theory of Relativity, the MPIWG received a wide attention in the media. Read more

“Albert Einstein - Genie und Grenzgänger,” a podcast-series with Alexander Blum about the Theory of Relativity. Podcast Oct 29/ Nov 06, 2015

A chronology of the milestones of the theory of general relativity. Download

On the occasion of the anniversary, a joint conference of physicists and historians of science takes place in Berlin from 30.11.–05.12.2015. To Conference Website

In occasion of the 100th anniversary of Einstein's formulation of general relativity in Berlin, the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science promotes a conference from 02.12.–05.12.2015. Go to Conference Website

The MPIWG commissioned the play " Transcendence " by Marc Robert Friedman about Einstein and the theory of relativity. It is performed from 20.11.–1.12. at the English Theatre Berlin. Go to Website

15th Einstein Lecture Dahlem: K.S. Thorne is giving a lecture titled “A Century of Einstein’s Relativity: From the Big Bang to Black Holes and “Interstellar”” (in English) on 25.11.2015. The Einstein Lectures Dahlem are organized by the FU Berlin and the MPG. Go to Website

Blum, Alexander S.: QED and the man who didn’t make it: Sidney Dancoff and the infrared divergence. – In: Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics. – 50 (2015), p. 70–94. Go to Article

Hanoch Gutfreund and Jürgen Renn have recently published two new books on Einstein. The Road to Relativity and Relativity: The Special and the General Theory

Princeton University Press provides a database of The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein. Go to Database

See a selection of articles and interviews published in the context of the anniversary. Go to Media & Press

German version of this research topic

Download print version of this research topic

Research Topics Archive

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: The Strait in the Cold War—Deep Science and Global Geopolitics in the Mediterranean
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Mountain Clamor! Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Data and Decisions in Early Modern Mines
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Scientific Scores and Musical Ears: Sound Diagrams in Field Recording
School of Athens
46: Early Modern Adaptation of the Aristotelian Mechanics
better shelter
45: Refugee Housing
Black Hole Merger
43: One Hundred Years of Gravitational Waves
42: How High Is the Sea?
41: The Renewal of Einstein's Theory of Relativity in the Post-War Era
40: Do Data Have Politics?
39: From Sound to Knowledge
38: Colours and Their Context
37: Is Bigger Better
36: Rooting Language Family Trees
35: Making Genetics Human
34: Galileo's Laboratory of Ideas
33: Historicizing Big Data
32: Ancient Balances at the Nexus of Innovation and Knowledge
31: Looking at Diversity
30: How Recipes Created Knowledge in Early Modern Households
29: Metallurgy, Ballistics and Epistemic Instruments
28: Science under Scrutiny
27: The Globalization of Knowledge and its Consequences
26: Parts Unknown: Making the Familiar Strange
25: Apprehending Human Difference and Population Size
24: Endangerment and Its Consequences
23: The Equilibrium Controversy
22: Art and Knowledge in Pre-Modern Europe
21: Knowledgescapes
20: Baby Science in fin-de-siècle America
19: Let him reconquer language
18: Histories of Scientific Observation
17: On Historicizing Epistemology : an essay
16: Johann Lambert's Conversion to a Geometry of Space
15: The Uncertain Boundaries between Light and Matter
14: Every move will be recorded
13: Courting the Crafts in Qing China
12: The Concepts of Immanuel Kant's Natural Philosophy
11: Jean Piaget and the Child's Spontaneous Geometry
10: Galileo and the Others
9: Historicizing Knowledge about Human Biodiversity
8: Dreaming in and of Neurophilosophy
7: Who Were Einstein's Opponents?
6: Physiology of the piano
5: Numbering Bees
4: New Ways of Using Digital Images
3: Telling Instruments
2: Microscope Slides: An Object of the History of Science?
1: What (Good) is Historical Epistemology?

Die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Relativitätstheorie in der Nachkriegszeit

img_frontpage_einstein_1921_by_f_schmutzer_-_restoration.jpg

Albert Einstein in Wien (1921); Wikimedia Commons.

Die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Relativitätstheorie in der Nachkriegszeit

Wissenschaftshistoriker der Abteilung I des MPIWG untersuchen die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Theorie in der Nachkriegszeit.

Im November 1915 stellte Albert Einstein seine Theorie der Schwerkraft vor und brachte es damit zu Weltruhm, der weit über seinen Tod hinaus bis heute ungebrochen anhält. Anders dagegen verlief die Geschichte seiner allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie, die in den 1920er-Jahren ihre Attraktivität verlor und erst Mitte der 1950er-Jahre einen erneuten Aufschwung erfuhr. Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte untersuchen diese erstaunliche Entwicklung.

Die Entwicklung der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie jährt sich 2015 zum hundertsten Mal. Im November 1915 legte Albert Einstein der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften im Wochentakt Berichte vor, in denen er die grundlegenden Feldgleichungen seiner neuen Theorie sowie deren Anwendung auf die Perihelverschiebung des Merkur ausarbeitete.

Vier Jahre später erfuhr eine der grundlegenden Voraussagen der Theorie - die Krümmung des Lichts im Schwerefeld der Sonne - durch eine von Arthur S. Eddington geleitete Sonnenfinsternisexpedition auf der Insel Principe eine eindrucksvolle Bestätigung. Einstein wurde quasi über Nacht zu einer internationalen Berühmtheit und gilt seitdem als Inbegriff des genialen Wissenschaftlers.

Diese beispiellose Erfolgsgeschichte ist oft erzählt und eingehend erforscht worden. Weniger bekannt ist die weitere Geschichte der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie, die –gerade im Vergleich mit diesen spektakulären Anfängen - eine auf den ersten Blick überraschende Wendung nahm. Denn nach dem anfänglichen Hype hat der Wissenschaftshistoriker Jean Eisenstaedt einen Tiefstand im Interesse und in der Forschung an der Theorie ausgemacht („low-watermark period“). Diese Phase dauerte ungefähr von Mitte der 1920er- bis Mitte der 1950er-Jahre an.

Auf diesen Tiefstand folgte ein eindrucksvolles Wiedererwachen des Interesses, das von dem Physiker Clifford Will als „Renaissance“ der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie bezeichnet wurde: Diese war bis dahin vornehmlich zur Berechnung kleinster Korrekturen zu den Voraussagen der newtonschen Gravitationstheorie innerhalb unseres Sonnensystems angewandt worden. Nun wurde sie wichtig für die Beschreibung weit entfernter Himmelskörper.

Deren unerwartete Eigenschaften ließen sich mithilfe von neuen, der Theorie abgewonnenen Konzepten erklären: so etwa das Modell des schwarzen Lochs – eines astronomischen Objekts mit einem so starken Gravitationsfeld, dass nicht einmal Licht entweichen kann.

img_lensshoe_hubble.jpg

Das Bild einer fernen Galaxis wird zu einem sogenannten Einstein-Ring verzerrt, aufgrund des Gravitationslinsen-Effekts, den Einstein auf Grundlage seiner allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie vorhergesagt hatte; Wikimedia Commons.

In den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren rückte die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie zurück in den Fokus der Aufmerksamkeit. Forscher, die sich mit dieser Theorie und mit schwarzen Löchern beschäftigten, wurden ein halbes Jahrhundert nach Einsteins Triumph zu Superstars der Physik, allen voran der Engländer Stephen Hawking.

Um diese historische Dynamik zu untersuchen, hat die Abteilung I des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte eine Arbeitsgruppe etabliert, in der Historiker der modernen Physik und internationale Experten für die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie und ihre Geschichte kooperieren. Diese Arbeit ist - auch in Vorbereitung auf eine große Konferenz aus Anlass des Jubiläums im November (gemeinsam mit dem Albert-Einstein-Institut in Potsdam-Golm) – in vollem Gange; erste Ergebnisse wird das Forschungsprojekt in der nächsten Ausgabe von Isis präsentieren (Autoren: Alexander Blum, Roberto Lalli, Jürgen Renn).

Diese Ergebnisse erlauben bereits ein erstes Verständnis der oben erwähnten Abfolge von Niedergang und Wiedererwachen der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie. Hierbei spielen natürlich die veränderten Bedingungen für die Naturwissenschaften, und gerade für die Physik, nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und im Kalten Krieg eine große Rolle. Nachdem Physiker mit dem Bau der Atombombe ihre Wichtigkeit für die „nationale Sicherheit“ unter Beweis gestellt hatten, wurde in den Nachkriegsjahren viel Geld in die physikalische Forschung gesteckt, und auch die Zahl der jungen Physikabsolventen nahm ungeahnte Ausmaße an.

Gleichzeitig eröffneten die im Krieg entwickelten Technologien ganz neue Forschungsfelder. So konnten etwa in der Radarforschung entwickelte Methoden zum Nachweis von Radiowellen nun verwendet werden, um Himmelskörper zu beobachten, die nicht zufällig in dem vom menschlichen Auge wahrnehmbaren Spektralbereich leuchteten: Die Radioastronomie war geboren. Sie erlaubte in den frühen 1960er-Jahren den Nachweis ferner, sternartiger Objekte, die ganz andere Eigenschaften aufweisen als unsere Sonne: Diese sogenannten Quasare strahlten so stark, dass Sie für Radioteleskope sichtbar waren, obwohl sie Milliarden von Lichtjahren entfernt waren. Im Rahmen der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie wurden sie dann bald als im Entstehen begriffene schwarze Löcher gedeutet.

Es war jedoch keineswegs ausgemacht, dass die Forschung an der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie von dem Boom in der Physik würde profitieren können, galt sie doch um 1950 als ein sehr abseitiges und wenig fruchtbares Gebiet. Genauso wenig hätte sie unmittelbar von den neuen astronomischen Beobachtungen Nutzen ziehen können, wären die neuen theoretischen Konzepte, die für die Erklärung dieser Beobachtungen herangezogen wurden, nicht bereits vorher – in den späten 1950er- und frühen 1960er-Jahren –ausgearbeitet worden. Um an diesen Entwicklungen teilhaben zu können, mussten Physiker die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie erst neu erfinden.

In den Jahrzehnten des Tiefstands war die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie vor allem mathematisch und philosophisch von Interesse: Die Einsteinschen Feldgleichungen lieferten, fernab von konkreten physikalischen Fragestellungen, aufgrund ihrer komplexen Struktur ein reges Betätigungsfeld für Mathematiker.

Gleichzeitig bot sie, mit ihrer neuartigen Vorstellung einer gekrümmten Raumzeit, die Grundlage für Versuche, eine vereinheitlichte Theorie der gesamten Physik oder eine Theorie der Entwicklung des Universums als Ganzes (Kosmologie) zu konstruieren. Diese frühen Versuche waren jedoch hauptsächlich von grundlegenden philosophischen Fragestellungen getrieben und hatten wenig Bezug zum Mainstream der physikalischen Forschung.

img_einstein_gyro_gravity_probe_b.jpg

Diese nahezu perfekte Kugel wurd im Gravity Probe B Satellitenexperiment eingesetzt um die Krümmung der Raumzeit nahe der Erde zu überprüfen, wie sie von der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie vorhergesagt wird. Hier sieht man sie, wie sie das Bild des Erfinders dieser Theorie bricht; Wikimedia Commons.

In den 1950er-Jahren begann sich dies zu ändern: Eine neue Mobilität ermöglichte ein Zusammentreffen von internationalen Wissenschaftlern, die zuvor relativ isoliert auf der Grundlage der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie an solch randständigen Problemen der Physik gearbeitet hatten. Ein Schlüsselereignis ist hierbei eine Konferenz in Bern im Jahre 1955, die einen Startpunkt darstellt für die Etablierung einer internationalen Gemeinschaft von Physikern, die sich als „Relativisten“ verstanden.

Diese Konferenz fand aus Anlass des 50-jährigen Jubiläums der speziellen Relativitätstheorie statt, und Albert Einstein war natürlich als Ehrengast vorgesehen. Sein Tod wenige Monate vor der Konferenz wurde von den Teilnehmern auch als ein Zeichen verstanden, dass es nun an Ihnen war, die Einsteinsche Tradition fortzuführen.

Die in den folgenden Jahren vorangetriebene Institutionalisierung dieser Gemeinschaft – mit regelmäßigen Konferenzen, spezialisierten Zeitschriften und einem regen Austausch junger Wissenschaftler zwischen den weit verstreuten Zentren dieser Forschung – geschah zum Teil nach dem Vorbild etablierter Unterdisziplinen der Physik, wie der Kernphysik. Aber, im Vergleich zu den Kernphysikern, musste sich diese Gemeinschaft, die „General Relativity and Gravitation Community,“ in viel höherem Maße selbst erfinden; daher war sie, gerade auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Vernetzung, gleichsam Vorreiter.

Damit eine solche Gemeinschaft geschaffen werden konnte, mussten Physiker auch gemeinsame Fragestellungen entwickeln. Und hierbei rückten nun physikalischere Fragestellungen stärker in den Vordergrund. Ein Beispiel ist die Berechnung und  der mögliche Nachweis von Gravitationswellen; ein anderes die Gravitation sehr dichter, massiver Sterne.

Durch solche Fragestellungen stellten Relativisten Verbindungen zu anderen Unterdisziplinen der Physik her, da solch dichte Objekte auch mit den Methoden der Kernphysik beschrieben werden konnten und mussten. Und sie entwickelten die theoretischen Begriffe, die dann - mit den astronomischen Entdeckungen der frühen 1960er-Jahre –die allgemeine Relativitätstheorie eindrucksvoll als eine empirische, physikalische Theorie mit unerwartet großem Anwendungsgebiet etablierten. Ein Status, den sie in ihren zweiten 50 Jahren zementiert hat.

Weitere Informationen

In der Media Library des MPIWG befinden sich Mitschnitte der Vorträge, die auf der Konferenz „A Century of General Relativity“ gehalten wurden. Zu den Videos

Anlässlich des 100. Jahrestags der allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie war das MPIWG weithin präsent in den Medien. Weiterlesen

„Albert Einstein - Genie und Grenzgänger“, eine Podcast-Serie mit Alexander Blum zur Relativitätstheorie. Podcast 29. Okt./ 06. Nov. 2015

Ein Überblick über die Meilensteine der Relativitätstheorie. Download

Aus Anlass des Jubiläums findet eine gemeinsame Konferenz von Physikern und Wissenschaftshistorikern vom 30.11.–5.12.2015 in Berlin statt. Zur Konferenzwebsite

Am MPIWG findet anläßlich des Jubiläums vom 2.12.–5.12.2015 eine Konferenz statt. Zur Konferenzwebsite

Das MPIWG hat das Theaterstück „Transcendence“ von Marc Robert Friedman über Einstein und die Relativitätstheorie in Auftrag gegeben, das vom 20.11.–1.12. am English Theater Berlin aufgeführt wird. Zur Website

15. Einstein Lecture Dahlem: K.S. Thorne hält am 25.11.2015 einen Vortrag mit dem Titel „A Century of Einstein’s Relativity: From the Big Bang to Black Holes and “Interstellar”“ (auf Englisch). Die Veranstalung wird von der FU Berlin und der MPG veranstaltet. Zur Website

Blum, Alexander S.: QED and the man who didn’t make it: Sidney Dancoff and the infrared divergence. – In: Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics. – 50 (2015), p. 70–94. Zum Artikel

Hanoch Gutfreund und Jürgen Renn haben zwei Bücher zu Albert Einstein veröffentlicht. The Road to Relativity und Relativity: The Special and General Theory

Die Princeton University Press stellt eine Datenbank mit gesammelten Werken Albert Einsteins zur Verfügung. Zur Datenbank

Für eine Übersicht über Artikel und Interviews, die im Kontext des Jubiläums erschienen sind: Zu Medien & Presse

Englische Version des Forschungsthemas

Druckversion dieses Forschungsthemas

Archiv der Forschungsthemen

Die Bärenjagd überall in Europa führte in vielen Gegenden zum Aussterben der Art. Wikimedia.
52: Wie mit Bären zusammenleben
51: Die Wunder körperlicher Abfallprodukte
Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg – Tiefenforschung und globale Geopolitik im Mittelmeerraum
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Berggeschrey! Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Erfahren und Entscheiden in frühneuzeitlichen Bergwerken
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse und musikalische Ohren: Klangdiagramme von Feld-Tonaufnahmen
School of Athens
46: Die Bearbeitung der aristotelischen Mechanik in der frühen Neuzeit
better shelter
45: Flüchtlingsunterkünfte
44: Klimatologie kartieren
Black Hole Merger
43: Hundert Jahre Gravitationswellen
42: Wie hoch ist das Meer?
41: Die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Relativitätstheorie in der Nachkriegszeit
40: Sind Daten politisch?
39: Aus Schall wird Wissen
38: Farben und ihr Kontext
37: Ist größer besser?
36: Wurzeln der Sprachfamilien-Bäume
35: Genetik menschlich machen
34: Galileos Gedankenwerkstatt
33: Die Geschichte von Big Data
32: Waagen zwischen Innovation und Wissen
31: Blick auf Vielfalt
30: Wie Rezepte in frühneuzeitlichen Haushalten Wissen schufen
29: Metallurgie, Ballistik und epistemische Instrumente
28: Überwachte Wissenschaft
27: Die Globalisierung des Wissens und ihre Konsequenzen
26: Parts Unknown: Das Vertraute fremd machen
25: Bevölkerungsgröße und Geschlechterproportion
24: Gefährdung und ihre Folgen
23: Die Gleichgewichtskontroverse
22: Künstlerwissen im frühneuzeitlichen Europa
21: Wissenslandschaften
20: Babys beobachten in Fin-de-siècle-Amerika
19: Lassen wir ihn die Sprache wieder erobern
18: Geschichte(n) der Wissenschaftlichen Beobachtung
17: Historische Epistemologie: Zur Einführung
16: Johann Lamberts Konversion zu einer Geometrie des Raumes
15: Die unscharfen Grenzen zwischen Licht und Materie
14: Jeder Schritt wird aufgezeichnet werden
13: Hofiertes Handwerk
12: Kants naturtheoretische Begriffe
11: Jean Piaget und die spontane Geometrie des Kindes
10: Galilei und die Anderen
9: Eine Wissensgeschichte der menschlichen Vielfalt
8: Träumen in und von der Neurophilosophie
7: Wer waren Einsteins Gegner?
6: Physiologie des Klaviers
5: Getupfte Bienen
4: Neue Wege für die Nutzung digitaler Bilder
3: Vielsagende Instrumente
2: Microscope Slides - ein Objekt der Wissenschaftsgeschichte?
1: Was ist und wozu dient die historische Epistemologie?