Mountain Clamor! Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining

fs49_img.jpg

Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).

Fig. 1. Mining industry represented as a prospering and promising venture. Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).

Mountain Clamor! Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining

In her ongoing research project, Tina Asmussen explores the sociomaterial dimensions of early modern mining through addressing mutual processes of appropriation, attribution, and valuation.

Mining was one of the most important driving forces behind economic and technological dynamics in early modern Europe. Silver, copper, and lead mining experienced a veritable boom in the Ore Mountains, the Harz Mountains, and the Tyrolean Alps from the second half of the fifteenth century. The rapid spread of news of the discovery of rich metal deposits led to a sudden transformation of hitherto uncultivated areas into populated and prospering mining regions (Figure 1). The term “Berggeschrey,” or “mountain clamor,” was coined by contemporaries to describe this phenomenon—firstly, it points to a process of economic dynamism, with faster cycles of booms and busts and the circulation of people, knowledge, materials, and money at a quickened pace. Secondly, the clamor’s intensity and impulsiveness marks the affective dimension of this early modern silver rush, driven by material desires, hope, and fear. My research project Subterranean Economies—Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining links up the history of political economy—broadly understood as the set of practices of making and exchanging value in a given culture—with questions about knowledge, agency, and meaning being raised within the histories of science and art. I investigate contemporary processes and practices of valuation of metals that are not just restricted to mere economic dimensions but acknowledge the complex semantics of the material and their emotional-affective implications. By looking more closely at the dynamic sociocultural energies behind the already well-studied economic and technological developments of the early modern mining industry, and by addressing the materiality and its transformation through mutual processes of appropriation and attribution, my research challenges teleological narratives of the consolidation of administrative structures, financial mechanisms, and technological innovation. Building upon people’s longing for precious and semi-precious metals, my leading questions center material and emotional valorizations of metals in connection with the manufacture and circulation of coin as a token of exchange and value.

The quickening of economic flows in and beyond mining regions led to widespread discussions, both in writing and practice, concerning the intrinsic value and exchange rates of coins. Since the greatest part of the mining region’s silver production was coined in local mints, mining was closely connected to monetary policy and practices. The increased silver output led to the leading gold currency (Rhenish guilder) being gradually replaced by a silver equivalent—the Guldiner, Guldengroschen, or Taler. The mints not only produced Taler coins, but also commemorative medals—such as that of Duke Georg of Braunschweig-Calenberg (Figure 2)—mining coins (Ausbeutemünzen), which served as payment for the investors (Gewerken) of a certain mine, and tokens. On a regular basis, new edicts were issued, new coins introduced, old coins valued or revalued, and “evil” coins with a very low precious metal content were prohibited. In these discourses the values of raw material, of utility, and of exchange overlapped with and were intimately linked to desires, wishful thinking, and moral discourses about honest and deceitful ways of making profit.  

fs49_fig3.jpg

The mines as an emblem of power. Schaustück (showpiece) of Duke Georg Braunschweig-Calenberg value of 4 talers. Henning Schlüter: Zellerfeld, 1638, 115,31g, 89mm.

Fig. 2: The mines as an emblem of power. Schaustück (showpiece) of Duke Georg Braunschweig-Calenberg value of 4 talers. Henning Schlüter: Zellerfeld, 1638, 115,31g, 89mm.

The new possibilities for making fortunes—and losing them—triggered contemporary reflection on material wealth and financial profit, not only on the level of the state’s (o)economy but also for individuals who dared to invest. Contemporaries described the mountains as “matrices” of wealth and repositories of all treasures. With the aid of increasingly expensive machines, costly ventilation and drainage technologies tunnels were drilled into great depths, and with new metallurgical methods such as liquation, ores with poorer metal content could be exploited and processed. These developments turned mining industry into a high-risk and capital-intensive business, where people could easily lose money and ruin themselves. These technological and organizational innovations therefore not only changed the economic landscape, but affected people’s perceptions of metallic ores and the value attached to them. As the miners and investors believed, one could acquire the desired metals and turn the mining venture into profit by trusting in God and one’s good fortune, by having good hope, true skill, and adequate knowledge.

The association of mining with knowledge, wealth, risk, and uncertainty thus clearly connects the desire for material gain with a fear of financial wreck and loss, and situates them within a discourse of Christian virtue. A painting made by the German artist Matthäus Gundelach (1566–1653) offers a highly elaborate representation of this interconnection (Figure 3). This allegory depicts Fortuna balancing on a wheel that drives a winch for lifting materials from a shaft. On her right hand side a positively connoted miner, represented in his traditional dress, presents an ore specimen, on her left side a group of treasure hunters violently dig up the earth in search of a coin hoard. Gundelach created this painting in a time of hyperinflation and opposed artificial riches (coins) to natural riches and pits the learned and honest miner against ignorant, greedy, and reckless treasure hunters; however, he arranged both sides along the axis of chance. The visible confrontation between ores and coins link to broader questions about the relationship between natural wealth or natural riches and the production of value by “artificial” means, and furthermore whether art (or human labor in general) should have the power to multiply value.

fs49_fig4.jpg

Men’s quest for natural riches: Fortuna, the good miner and the treasure hunters. Matthäus Gundelach

Fig. 3: Men’s quest for natural riches: Fortuna, the good miner and the treasure hunters. Matthäus Gundelach, Allegory of Mining (ca. 1620). Oil on canvas, 133 × 86 cm. Dortmund, Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte (inv. no. C 5188).
Image © Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Dortmund.

Not only in artworks, but also in texts and artefacts, do the mines appear as polyvalent spaces: the artistically crafted ore specimen (Handstein) made by Caspar Ulrich in Joachimstal presents the mine as divine treasure and repository of wealth (Figure 4). Furthermore, mines are represented as laboratories or workshops of technological and metallurgical knowledge and innovation, as important sites of courtly representation and emblems of the sovereign’s economic power (Figure 2), or as points of convergence for mutual material desires and risks. In order to encompass the complex semantics of the material, which integrate social, economic, epistemic, symbolic, and emotional dimensions, it is important to acknowledge religion as a fundamental structuring principle of early modern societies. For contemporary miners, and other people actively involved in the mining industry, the hope for rich yields was not just a mere material quest. Hope—alongside faith and love or charity—was also a Christian virtue that superimposed rational thinking with positive expectations about future happenings based on prognostications and confidence in God’s will. Hope means a longing for a happy end, which depends, in addition to knowledge and skill, upon divine providence.

fs49_fig2.jpg

Handstein (piece of ore) with a mining scene representing the biblical mountain Golgotha.

Fig. 4: Handstein (piece of ore) with a mining scene representing the biblical mountain Golgotha. St. Joachimsthal, or Tyrol 1550. Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, Kunstkammer Inv. No. 4167.

Clearly the materials in question—gold, silver, copper, lead, and iron—rather than being stable or fixed entities, functioned simultaneously as economic resources, scientific objects, or substances, raw materials, and powerful allegories as well as phantasms or images of value. This research project offers a new perspective of the early modern mining industry as a sociomaterial phenomenon in its own right—constituted by the entanglement of the actors’ economic practices and scientific techniques with meaning-making affects and desires.

Further Information

Research Topics Archive

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: The Strait in the Cold War—Deep Science and Global Geopolitics in the Mediterranean
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Mountain Clamor! Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Data and Decisions in Early Modern Mines
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Scientific Scores and Musical Ears: Sound Diagrams in Field Recording
School of Athens
46: Early Modern Adaptation of the Aristotelian Mechanics
better shelter
45: Refugee Housing
44: Mapping Climatology
Black Hole Merger
43: One Hundred Years of Gravitational Waves
42: How High Is the Sea?
41: The Renewal of Einstein's Theory of Relativity in the Post-War Era
40: Do Data Have Politics?
39: From Sound to Knowledge
38: Colours and Their Context
37: Is Bigger Better
36: Rooting Language Family Trees
35: Making Genetics Human
34: Galileo's Laboratory of Ideas
33: Historicizing Big Data
32: Ancient Balances at the Nexus of Innovation and Knowledge
31: Looking at Diversity
30: How Recipes Created Knowledge in Early Modern Households
29: Metallurgy, Ballistics and Epistemic Instruments
28: Science under Scrutiny
27: The Globalization of Knowledge and its Consequences
26: Parts Unknown: Making the Familiar Strange
25: Apprehending Human Difference and Population Size
24: Endangerment and Its Consequences
23: The Equilibrium Controversy
22: Art and Knowledge in Pre-Modern Europe
21: Knowledgescapes
20: Baby Science in fin-de-siècle America
19: Let him reconquer language
18: Histories of Scientific Observation
17: On Historicizing Epistemology : an essay
16: Johann Lambert's Conversion to a Geometry of Space
15: The Uncertain Boundaries between Light and Matter
14: Every move will be recorded
13: Courting the Crafts in Qing China
12: The Concepts of Immanuel Kant's Natural Philosophy
11: Jean Piaget and the Child's Spontaneous Geometry
10: Galileo and the Others
9: Historicizing Knowledge about Human Biodiversity
8: Dreaming in and of Neurophilosophy
7: Who Were Einstein's Opponents?
6: Physiology of the piano
5: Numbering Bees
4: New Ways of Using Digital Images
3: Telling Instruments
2: Microscope Slides: An Object of the History of Science?
1: What (Good) is Historical Epistemology?

Berggeschrey! Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau

fs49_img.jpg

Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).

Abb. 1: Die Bergbauindustrie als florierendes und vielversprechendes Unternehmen. Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograf in Besitz der Universitätsbibliothek Basel (A lambda II 46a).

Berggeschrey! Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau

In ihrem aktuellen Projekt untersucht Tina Asmussen die soziomaterielle Dimension frühneuzeitlichen Bergbaus, indem sie wechselseitige Prozesse der Aneignung und der Zuschreibung von Wert analysiert.

Bergbau war eine der wichtigsten Triebkräfte der dynamischen ökonomischen und technischen Entwicklung im frühneuzeitlichen Europa. Silber-, Kupfer- und Bleibergbau erlebten im Erzgebirge, im Harz und in den Tiroler Alpen ab der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts einen regelrechten Boom. Die rasche Verbreitung der Nachricht von der Entdeckung reicher Metallvorkommen führte zu einer schlagartigen Verwandlung bis dahin unkultivierter Gebiete in besiedelte und florierende Bergbauregionen (Abbildung 1). Zur Beschreibung dieses Phänomens prägten die Zeitgenossen den Begriff „Berggeschrey“. Er verweist erstens auf einen dynamischen ökonomischen Prozess mit kurzen Zyklen des Auf- und Abschwungs und der Zirkulation von Menschen, Wissen, Materialien und Geld in immer schnellerem Tempo. Zweitens markiert die Intensität und Impulsivität des Geschreis die affektive Dimension dieses von materiellen Wünschen, Hoffnungen und Ängsten angetriebenen Silberrauschs. Mein Forschungsprojekt „Subterranean Economies – Resource Flows and Metal Culture in Early Modern Mining“ (Unterirdische Ökonomien – Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau) verbindet die Geschichte politischer Ökonomie – allgemein verstanden als eine Reihe von Praktiken der Herstellung und des Tauschs von Werten in einer bestimmten Kultur – mit Fragen nach Wissen, Agency und Sinnstiftungen, die in Kultur-, Kunst- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte aufgeworfen werden. Ich untersuche zeitgenössische Prozesse und Praktiken der Wertzuschreibung von Metallen, die nicht auf rein ökonomische Aspekte beschränkt sind, sondern die komplexe Semantik des Materials und ihre emotional-affektiven Implikationen berücksichtigen. Indem meine Forschungsarbeit die soziokulturellen Energien hinter der bereits gut erforschten ökonomischen und technischen Entwicklung der Bergbauindustrie in der frühen Neuzeit näher betrachtet und sich der Materialität und ihrer Verwandlung durch wechselseitige Prozesse der Aneignung und Zuschreibung widmet, stellt sie teleologische Narrative der Verfestigung von Verwaltungsstrukturen, Finanzmechanismen und technischen Innovationen infrage. Ausgehend von dem Verlangen der Menschen nach Edel- und Halbedelmetallen zielen meine Leitfragen auf materielle und emotionale Wertzuschreibungen von Metallen im Zusammenhang mit der Produktion und Zirkulation von Münzen als Tausch- und Wertmarken.

 

Die Beschleunigung der Wirtschaftsströme in den Bergbauregionen und darüber hinaus führte sowohl in zeitgenössischen Texten als auch in der Praxis zu weitschweifigen Diskussionen über den intrinsischen Wert und den Tauschwert von Münzen. Da ein Großteil der Silberproduktion der einzelnen Bergbauregionen in lokalen Münzstätten vermünzt wurde, war der Bergbau aufs engste mit der Währungspolitik und Währungspraktiken verbunden. Die verstärkte Silberförderung führte dazu, dass die beherrschende Goldwährung (Rheinischer Gulden) nach und nach durch ein Silberäquivalent ersetzt wurde – den Guldiner, Guldengroschen oder Taler (Abbildung 2). Regelmäßig wurden neue Edikte erlassen, neue Münzen eingeführt, alte Münzen geprüft oder neu bewertet und „böse“ Münzen mit sehr geringem Edelmetallanteil verboten. Material-, Gebrauchs- und Tauschwert überschnitten sich in diesen Diskursen und waren eng verbunden mit Begierden, Wunschdenken und moralischen Diskursen über ehrliche und betrügerische Methoden, Gewinn zu erzielen.

fs49_fig3.jpg

„Schaustück“ von Georg Herzog von Braunschweig-Calenberg im Wert von vier Talern. Henning Schlüter: Zellerfeld, 1638, 115,31 g, 89 mm.

Abb. 2: Die Bergwerke als Machtsymbol. „Schaustück“ von Georg Herzog von Braunschweig-Calenberg im Wert von vier Talern. Henning Schlüter: Zellerfeld, 1638, 115,31 g, 89 mm.

Die neuen Möglichkeiten, ein Vermögen zu verdienen – und wieder zu verlieren –, regten die zeitgenössische Reflexion über materiellen Wohlstand und finanziellen Profit an. Zeitgenossen beschrieben die Berge als „Nährboden“ für Wohlstand und Quelle aller Reichtümer. Mithilfe zunehmend teurerer Maschinen, kostspieliger Lüftungs- und Drainagetechniken wurden Schächte in große Tiefen gebohrt, und mit neuen metallurgischen Methoden wie der Seigerung konnten Erze mit geringem Metallgehalt abgebaut und verarbeitet werden. Diese Entwicklungen verwandelten die Bergbauindustrie in ein hochriskantes und kapitalintensives Geschäft, in dem die Menschen leicht Geld verlieren und sich ruinieren konnten. Daher veränderten diese technologischen und organisatorischen Innovationen nicht nur die ökonomische Landschaft, sondern tangierten auch die Wahrnehmung der Erze und den ihnen zugeschriebenen Wert. Wie die Bergleute und Gewerken glaubten, konnte man sich die gewünschten Metalle aneignen und Profit aus dem Bergbau schlagen, indem man auf Gott und das eigene Glück vertraute und wenn man gute Hoffnung, echtes Können und gute Sachkenntnis besaß.

Die Assoziation des Bergbaus mit Wissen, Reichtum, Risiko und Unsicherheit verbindet den Wunsch nach materiellem Gewinn mit der Angst vor finanziellem Verlust und Ruin und situiert diese in einem christlichen Tugenddiskurs. Ein Gemälde des deutschen Künstlers Matthäus Gundelach (1566–1653) bietet eine elaborierte Darstellung dieser Verbindung (Abbildung 3). Die Allegorie zeigt Fortuna auf einem Haspelrad balancierend. Zu Fortunas Rechten zeigt ein positiv dargestellter Bergmann in traditioneller Kleidung eine Erzprobe, zu ihrer linken reißt eine Gruppe von Schatzjägern auf der Suche nach einem Münzschatz gewaltsam die Erde auf. Gundelach schuf dieses Gemälde in einer Zeit der Hyperinflation und stellte darin künstlichen Reichtum (Münzen) natürlichem Reichtum gegenüber und spielte den gelehrten und ehrlichen Bergmann gegen ignorante, gierige und rücksichtslose Schatzjäger aus; doch er gruppierte beide Seiten auf der Achse des Glücks. Die sichtbare Gegenüberstellung von Erzen und Münzen schließt an allgemeinere Fragestellungen an, welche das Verhältnis zwischen natürlichen Werten oder natürlichem Reichtum und der Produktion von Wert mit „künstlichen“ Mitteln betreffen und die Frage, ob Kunst (oder menschliche Arbeit im Allgemeinen) die Macht haben sollte, Wert zu vervielfachen.

 

fs49_fig4.jpg

Das Streben des Menschen nach natürlichen Reichtümern: Fortuna, der gute Bergmann und die Schatzjäger. Matthäus Gundelach, Allegorie des Bergbaus (ca. 1620). Öl auf Leinwand, 133 x 86 cm. Dortmund, Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte (Inv.-Nr. C 5188).

Abb. 3: Das Streben des Menschen nach natürlichen Reichtümern: Fortuna, der gute Bergmann und die Schatzjäger. Matthäus Gundelach, Allegorie des Bergbaus (ca. 1620). Öl auf Leinwand, 133 x 86 cm. Dortmund, Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte (Inv.-Nr. C 5188). Bild © Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Dortmund.

Nicht nur in Kunstwerken, sondern auch in Texten und Artefakten erscheinen die Bergwerke als polyvalente Räume: Die von Caspar Ulrich in Joachimstal künstlerisch gefertigte Erzprobe (Handstein) zeigt das Bergwerk als göttlichen Schatz und als Quelle von Reichtum (Abbildung 4). Außerdem werden Bergwerke als Laboratorien oder Werkstätten für technische und metallurgische Kenntnisse und Innovationen dargestellt, als wichtige Stätten der höfischen Repräsentation und Sinnbilder für die ökonomische Macht des Herrschers (Abbildung 2) oder als Konvergenzpunkte materieller Wünsche, Begierden und Risiken. Um aber diese komplexe Semantik des Materials mit seinen sozialen, ökonomischen, epistemischen, symbolischen und emotionalen Dimensionen zu erfassen, ist es wichtig Religion als ein grundlegendes strukturierendes Prinzip frühneuzeitlicher Gesellschaften anzuerkennen. Für zeitgenössische Bergleute und andere aktiv in die Bergbauindustrie eingebundene Menschen war die Hoffnung auf reiche Erträge kein rein materielles Bestreben. Hoffnung war – zusammen mit Glauben und Liebe oder Nächstenliebe – auch eine christliche Tugend, die das rationale Denken mit positiven Erwartungen in Bezug auf künftige Ereignisse überlagerte, die auf Vorhersagen und Vertrauen in den Willen Gottes beruhten. Hoffnung bedeutete die Sehnsucht nach einem Happy End, das neben Wissen und Können auch von göttlicher Vorsehung abhing.

 

fs49_fig2.jpg

Handstein (Erz) mit einer Bergbauszene, die den biblischen Berg Golgatha zeigt. Caspar Ulrich, St. Joachimsthal oder Tirol 1550. Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, Kunstkammer Inv.-Nr. 4167.

Abb. 4: Handstein (Erz) mit einer Bergbauszene, die den biblischen Berg Golgatha zeigt. St. Joachimsthal oder Tirol 1550. Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, Kunstkammer Inv.-Nr. 4167.

Die Materialien in meinem Fokus – Gold, Silber, Kupfer, Blei und Eisen – stellten somit keine stabilen oder festen Größen dar, sondern waren vielmehr gleichzeitig wirtschaftliche Ressourcen, wissenschaftliche Objekte oder Substanzen, Werkstoffe sowie machtvolle Allegorien und Symbole. Dieses Forschungsprojekt eröffnet eine neue Perspektive auf die frühneuzeitliche Bergbauindustrie als soziomaterielles Phänomen sui generis – das durch die Verknüpfung der ökonomischen Praktiken und wissenschaftlichen Techniken der Akteure mit bedeutungsstiftenden Affekten und Wünschen entsteht.

Weitere Informationen

Archiv der Forschungsthemen

Bathymetry model of the Strait of Gibraltar ca. 1932, Instituto Español de Oceanografía.
50: Die Meerenge im Kalten Krieg – Tiefenforschung und globale Geopolitik im Mittelmeerraum
Andreas Ryff, Münz- und Mineralienbuch, 1594. Autograph in possession of the Basel University Library (A lambda II 46a).
49: Berggeschrey! Rohstoffströme und Metallkultur im frühneuzeitlichen Bergbau
Parades of Miners, Craftsmen, and Officials Marking the Marriage of Friedrich August II, Elector of Saxony, and Maria Josepha, Archduchess of Austria in 1719. Bergakademie Freiberg.
48: Erfahren und Entscheiden in frühneuzeitlichen Bergwerken
Transcript of a Bobolink song by Ferdinand S. Mathews (1904), Field Book of Wild Birds and Their Music: A Description of the Character and Music of Birds.
47: Wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse und musikalische Ohren: Klangdiagramme von Feld-Tonaufnahmen
School of Athens
46: Die Bearbeitung der aristotelischen Mechanik in der frühen Neuzeit
better shelter
45: Flüchtlingsunterkünfte
44: Klimatologie kartieren
Black Hole Merger
43: Hundert Jahre Gravitationswellen
42: Wie hoch ist das Meer?
41: Die Neuerfindung der Einsteinschen Relativitätstheorie in der Nachkriegszeit
40: Sind Daten politisch?
39: Aus Schall wird Wissen
38: Farben und ihr Kontext
37: Ist größer besser?
36: Wurzeln der Sprachfamilien-Bäume
35: Genetik menschlich machen
34: Galileos Gedankenwerkstatt
33: Die Geschichte von Big Data
32: Waagen zwischen Innovation und Wissen
31: Blick auf Vielfalt
30: Wie Rezepte in frühneuzeitlichen Haushalten Wissen schufen
29: Metallurgie, Ballistik und epistemische Instrumente
28: Überwachte Wissenschaft
27: Die Globalisierung des Wissens und ihre Konsequenzen
26: Parts Unknown: Das Vertraute fremd machen
25: Bevölkerungsgröße und Geschlechterproportion
24: Gefährdung und ihre Folgen
23: Die Gleichgewichtskontroverse
22: Künstlerwissen im frühneuzeitlichen Europa
21: Wissenslandschaften
20: Babys beobachten in Fin-de-siècle-Amerika
19: Lassen wir ihn die Sprache wieder erobern
18: Geschichte(n) der Wissenschaftlichen Beobachtung
17: Historische Epistemologie: Zur Einführung
16: Johann Lamberts Konversion zu einer Geometrie des Raumes
15: Die unscharfen Grenzen zwischen Licht und Materie
14: Jeder Schritt wird aufgezeichnet werden
13: Hofiertes Handwerk
12: Kants naturtheoretische Begriffe
11: Jean Piaget und die spontane Geometrie des Kindes
10: Galilei und die Anderen
9: Eine Wissensgeschichte der menschlichen Vielfalt
8: Träumen in und von der Neurophilosophie
7: Wer waren Einsteins Gegner?
6: Physiologie des Klaviers
5: Getupfte Bienen
4: Neue Wege für die Nutzung digitaler Bilder
3: Vielsagende Instrumente
2: Microscope Slides - ein Objekt der Wissenschaftsgeschichte?
1: Was ist und wozu dient die historische Epistemologie?